O YUKI CONJUGATE – A Tension of Opposites Vols 3 & 4


In stock

SKU: 13168 Categories: ,


PRE-ORDER ITEM — EXPECTED TO ARRIVE BY APRIL 7, 2023. Any regular in-stock items ordered at the same time (in the same shopping cart) will be held aside and sent with your pre-ordered goods as one shipment. Orders with multiple pre-orders will be sent as one order, when all of the items in the order are available. If you want the order to ship immediately, or want your pre-ordered items to be sent out as soon as they arrive here, rather than in a group, you must order them separately. PAYMENT WILL BE TAKEN WHEN YOU COMPLETE CHECKOUT.

The second in the series of releases called ‘A Tension of Opposites’. Contains 86 minutes of completely new music, effectively two albums in one. Housed in dual colour black and white shell, with folded Maltese cross packaging, full colour design printed on uncoated 240gsm card, inside and out. This edition is a complement to ‘A Tension of Opposites Volumes 1 & 2’ and is limited to 300 copies. Includes a download code.

Two years after the first two volumes of A Tension of Opposites (ATOO) were issued OYC return to the form they created to house their looser more exploratory works. ATOO allows them to expand their musical horizons and release their music more expediently.

The original ATOO was born out of 2020’s virus state where both OYC members were left working in isolation. Two types of music emerged spontaneously, and rather than try to combine them OYC decided to present the results separately, two sides of a contrasting whole.

In need of a suitable format and frustrated by their usual lengthy release schedules, OYC returned to the quick and dirty compact cassette – the place they started back in the 80s.

ATOO is ‘Dirty Ambient’, a phrase coined by OYC for the process of working quickly and instinctively, embracing errors and honouring imperfections. It’s also a jibe at what is sometimes a hideously manicured genre.

Released April 12, 2023
Mastered – Colin Potter: IC Studio, London
Design – Stuart Hardie

1. Deep Head Scene
2. Hidden Cities
3. Pleasured
4. Ocean of Forgetting
5. Abandonment (parts 1-4)
6. Volte
7. One Eighty 03:21
8. Switcheroo
9. Doubleback
10. U-ey
11. Returning
12. A Change of Heart
13. Second Thoughts
14. Flip Flop
15. Regress
16. Inversion

Volume 3:
‘A World Without Zeros’
Tracks 1 – 5 by Andrew Hulme (Hull & London 2021-2022, 43 minutes)

Volume 4
Tracks 6 – 16 by Roger Horberry, (York 2022, 37 minutes)

Joe Lamb – saxophone

Additional information

Weight 2 oz
Dimensions 4.5 × 3 × .6 in


You may also like…