RAPOON – Sol Laude: Mercury Rising 3


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: 12552 Category:


In celebration of the 25th anniversary of Rapoon’s existence Dutch label Winter-Light is releasing a trio of new works entitled ‘Mercury Rising’. The trilogy is comprised of new studio albums, all with exclusive material. The albums bring a new feel to Rapoon creator Robin Storey’s work, that of a more off world spacious feel, jazzy in parts with a ceremonial thread running throughout. Each album is interlinked by this feel and theme, as the titles suggest, but with each one still having its own unique identity.

The trilogy began in November 2017 with ‘Sanctus Equinox’, which was then followed by ‘Offworld OP1 Equs’. The Mercury Rising Trilogy now draws to it’s conclusion with ‘Sol Laude’ thundering it’s way through the universe, leaving it’s impression trailing across the cosmos like a giant comet’s tail. Deep industrial, space ambience and majestic choral bursts are interspersed with retro sci-fi electronica, emotive piano elements and off-world jazz.

Rapoon’s signature sound and structures are still very much evident on this release, but yet again Robin brings a different feel to the listener that has beautifully evolved across this triptych of his latest work.

The replicants have followed a well known path. Disagreements and divisions began to grow and sectarianism proceeded to develop. Soon it was an all out war of religious intolerance. Fighting took place and many died. 

Quietly , and without being noticed, those who held no radical religious beliefs gathered their things and slipped away in small ships and set course for a new life somewhere far away from the division and hatred that had developed in what was once a united community. They journeyed for many years and eventually found somewhere new. An indigenous lifeform of primitive primates seemed to be the most advanced species on the warm planet with blue seas and green forests. It was almost Utopia. 

Some of the replicants sang a song of thanks for safe passage and arrival. A white moon shone down. 

The CD comes in a full colour 6-panel digipack. The album comprises of 8 new tracks, total running time 55:35. Limited edition of 300 copies.

1. Attack Ships On Fire 09:35
2. Aftermath 07:42
3. Elysium’s Promise 04:41
4. A Bell ..Far Reaching.. 06:28
5. Prelude One 02:53
6. This Great Expanse 07:14
7. A New Sun 20:23
8. Incinio 02:02

Additional information

Weight 2.5 oz
Dimensions 5.5 × 5 × .35 in


You may also like…