RAPOON – Sanctus Equinox: Mercury Rising 1


In stock

SKU: 12350 Category:


In celebration of the 25th anniversary of Rapoon’s existence Dutch label Winter-Light is releasing a trio of new works entitled ‘Mercury Rising’. The trilogy iscomprised of new studio albums, all with exclusive material. The albums bring a new feel to Rapoon creator Robin Storey’s work, that of a more off world spacious feel, jazzy in parts with a ceremonial thread running throughout. Each album is interlinked by this feel and theme, as the titles suggest, but with each one still having its own unique identity.

‘Sanctus Equinox’ is the first release in the trilogy.

What if you had created a race of sentient beings and then simply abandoned them, having no further use left for them? What might become of them and what sort of world would these replicants create for themselves, if left to their own devices?

‘Sanctus Equinox’ is a portrayal of that world, a painted landscape of the secret rites and ceremonies practiced by its inhabitants. Celebrations and rituals created to overcome the sense of loss and abandonment, after being discarded by their creators, deemed to have no further worth. Scattered across the many moons in their new solar system, they gather en masse to worship under alien skies, bathed in the fractured light of moons and suns. Dressed in splendid costumes, they sing and dance along great winding, standing stone pathways; a procession of vibrant colours and chants moving hypnotically towards stone circles raised high to the heavens.

As the solar winds blow across now empty plains, time stands still as chants of ‘Sanctus Saves….’ echoes through the air.

Processed vocals, atmospheric pads, sub bass patterns, strings and old school sci-fi sounds all exquisitely layered to produce an album of intense beauty. The feel is one of ceremonial celebration and ritualistic joy. A ray of shining hope in the lives of a forgotten people.

The CD comes in a full colour 6-panel digipack. The album comprises of 10 new tracks, total running time 61:08. Limited edition of 300 copies.

1. Sanctus Romeo (07:35)
2. We have no one but us (06:53)
3. There is no help but us (04:34)
4. Approaching (05:50)
5. Sanctus saves (08:37)
6. A falling sun (03:35)
7. sanctus spiritus (07:08)
8. a temple moon (05:07)
9. Oh sun… (05:31)
10. this darkest day (06:13)

Additional information

Weight 2.5 oz
Dimensions 5.5 × 5 × .35 in


You may also like…